Sabotage

sab·o·tage

/ˈsabəˌtäZH/
Verb
Deliberately destroy, damage, or obstruct (something).
Noun
The action of sabotaging something.

I could very easily start off this conversation with an “I don’t want to talk about it”, but that would be futile.  Clearly, I do want to talk about it.  I want to put it out there in all its yucky, difficult reality and address its heinous nature.

Let me start by giving a bit of a back story.

I’m a class A klutz.  Or so I would have you believe.  In actuality, I am a karmic lightning rod of guilt.

My father is in the hospital with a horrible infection in his sacrum.  They put in a PICC line to administer mega doses of antibiotics for the next 4-6 weeks.  He will possibly be undergoing hyperbaric chamber treatments.  It’s not pretty, it’s not good.

Since I can’t be in Texas to help him with this situation, I have major daughter guilt.  I live in Massachusetts.  I have been trying to figure out a way to get my father here.  It’s not easy.  He needs to be in an assisted living facility and, well, that’s not cheap or easy to figure out.

So this morning, on my way into work, I slipped and fell.  Onto my sacrum.  Of course.  Now, I can’t sit, walk, move or sneeze without significant pain.

Karmic guilt is no joke, people.  No joke at all.

This is not the first time it’s happened either.  I’ve broken my foot at the same time he has, I’ve fallen the same day he has fallen.  It’s a nasty pattern and I’m really done sabotaging myself.

So.  Done.

Now pass me the Vicodin and the Vodka.  This daughter has to manage the rest of the workday “comfortably”.

Note to readers – I did not in actuality have either Vicodin or Vodka at work.  Which is both responsible of me and a total bummer.

2 thoughts on “Sabotage

  1. Pingback: Priorities | Wine Required

Leave a Reply

