The Lost Art of Biting Your Own Tongue

I’m slightly frightened of the results I’ll get from that title, but I guess I can live on the edge.

There is a very line between biting your tongue and hurting yourself.  Emotionally and physically.  If you literally bite your tongue you will, inevitably, hurt yourself.  If you figuratively bite your tongue you will also hurt yourself.

I’m more concerned about the emotional repercussions of not biting your tongue.  There have been many times that I have felt the need to speak my mind, without much consideration for the feelings of those on the receiving end.  The words that came out of my mouth were daggers aimed at damaging.  I wasn’t always this way.  I’ve become jaded because of painful actions and things that have happened to me in the past.  My only recourse, I felt, was to attack.

I was wrong.

I’m now in the process of learning to walk the fine line between words and silence.  I’m not even kidding when I say that it is the hardest thing I have ever had to do.  I want to yell and scream that I am right, but I just bite my tongue (figuratively).

You see, some may advocate for saying how you feel.  I used to be that person.  Now, I can realize that I do not have any gains from being that person.  I have the opportunity to turn things around and speak volumes without making a sound.

I’m choosing to be silent.  I can’t gain anything from my past behavior.  I’ve proven that.  I desperately want a different outcome, so I’m choosing to take the couple of breaths to formulate a thought, and then ask myself, “is it worth the argument and pain?”

Short answer: it’s not.

Leave a Reply

