Love/Hate

Love – Yoga

Hate – Finding a Yoga Studio

Love – Bendiness

Hate – High Fees

Love – iPad

Hate – Stodgy Yoga People

I’m a Bikram veteran. I loved every minute of my Bikram days, but due to distance and time limits I stopped going. It happens. Now that I live in New England, I have been yearning to find a studio where I can go to practice. Every option that I’ve come across hasn’t been viable. Either the schedule doesn’t work, or the location is awful, or even worse, the people are craptacular.

Is it too much to ask to find a studio where people aren’t horrible? No, I can’t put my foot on my head for 10 minutes, but I can for 2. (in a French accent) Well, zen you are not guuuud enough. Agravating.

I found a solution. I found an iPad app that has been the answer to my Yoga prayers. It’s called Pocket Yoga.

Before starting any routine, consult your physician.

20130105-115244.jpg

It allows me to pick a pre-determined yoga routine from three routines: Ocean, Desert & Mountain. Each routine has 35, 45, or 60 minute options and the levels are from Beginner to Expert. There are also two variations of Sun Salutations included as well.

So far I have done the Ocean 30 routine for the past 2 days, on the beginner level and I’m sore. It’s not ridiculous, just enough to make me feel like I did something more than just walking.

I have no excuse. I can do it at home. It can be done in as little as 30 minutes. The voice prompts and human figure representations are extremely helpful.

I had to buy the app, but at $2.99 it was a bargain. It also comes with a supplemental app ($4.99) where you can design your own routines.

This fits into my life exactly how I need it. Check it out if you’ve taken at least a couple of yoga classes. It definitely helps to have a basic knowledge of yoga as a foundation.

I hope you try it out.

One thought on “Love/Hate

  1. Love – Bendiness

    Maria: You’re my hero! (And something more of a hero to Mr. Rossman, methinks.)

    Admittedly, I know very little of yoga. MadTV used to feature a reoccurring sketch that made pretty good fun one of those yoga shows—was humorous, but I’m guessing not a source for useful information. Also, I remember watching someone called Yogi Kudu, on That’s Incredible, when I was a kid. This guy could fold himself into a small, plastic box. What he did with his genitals was a total mystery, as there looked to be ZERO extra room in the box. I assumed since his name sounded like yoga, he was using yogic techniques to get his body to do that stuff. I was a kid; what did I know?

    Anyway. Please don’t stuff yourself into a small, plastic box… gotta be a better use for yoga. Stay bendy. [=

Leave a Reply

