Commitment-a-phobe

I should have no problem with commitment.  I mean, I am married after all.  It should be no big deal.  I’m also a mother.  Theoretically, I should have no problem with commitment.  I do though.  I’m afraid of committing to my self.

What do you mean?

I make myself promises and consistently break them.  I tell myself that I will be kind to my body, and then I beat it up.  I’m not nice with self-talk.  I am my worst enemy. 

2012 was a year where I came into contact with a lot of things that I didn’t like about myself. Instead of addressing them I swept them under the rug and told myself that they would get better.

Someday, they would get better.  Guess what?  They didn’t.  I still have 30 pounds to lose, workouts to complete, curtains to hang and other stuff I don’t want to address. 

Well, there’s no better time to start than right now.  I’m not going to call these resolutions because I’m not good at those.  However, I am going to say that these are things that I would like to accomplish in 2013 and beyond. 

2013 – A Plan in the Making

Sweat 3 x’s a Week – Pretty self-explanatory.  I need to get moving at least 3 x’s a week.  Whether it be Bikram Yoga (love!!), running (less love) or any other physical activity, I will do this.

Blog More – I used to blog often.  It was a daily event and then life got in the way.  I enjoy it so I’m telling myself that I will do it more often.  That being said, it will be posts that I can do during my lunch hour at work.

Lose a Few – or more than a few.  I really would just like to lose 30 pounds.  It is a daunting task, but if I set my mind to it I can accomplish it.

Run Another Half Marathon – Last year (2011) I ran the San Antonio Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon.  I had a broken toe and it was, by far, the worst run of my life.  That being said, I loved training for it, and I loved running it.  It didn’t matter if I couldn’t walk the next day.  I finished and I got a medal.  I also wasn’t the last one to cross the finish line.  I can only improve.

Reduce Debt – Mine, not the country’s.  Simple enough: spend less, save more.

I think that I’ve set big expectations for myself, but nothing is unattainable here.  Now I just need to do what I need to do.

Here’s to hoping that everyone has a wonderful New Year’s celebration and a phenomenal 2013.

I also hope that everyone has a lot of wine.  It is, after all, required.

Leave a Reply

