Kid-friendly Moroccan Lamb Stew

I’ve mentioned before that my son likes flavor.  Believe me, I know I lucked out with a child who doesn’t mind seasoning and spices.  This stew turned out to be just flavorful enough for The Soldier and I and Bean didn’t bat an eye.

Moroccan Lamb Stew

 

93012 068

Ingredients

1/2  lb. lamb

2-3 T EVOO

1/2 red onion

2 cloves garlic

2 cans garbanzos

1 can stewed tomatoes

1 T. tomato paste

1/4 c. red wine

1 c. chopped carrots

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp flour

6 c. Chicken Stock

Directions

Coat the lamb in the flour and add the lamb to a sauté pan and brown it in the EVOO. You want it to be almost completely cooked.  Add in the garlic and onions and sauté them until translucent (I use garlic that I chop and mix with a little oil and freeze it.  When I say a little oil, I mean a little).

93012 053

93012 059

At this point I add in the chickpeas and carrots and cook them a little. 

93012 057

93012 054

Then add the wine and let it cook out for a few minutes to get rid of the alcohol-y taste. 

93012 058

Add in the broth, tomatoes and the spices.

Bring it to a boil and then turn it to medium-low heat.  Let it simmer for 30 minutes.

Season with salt and pepper to your liking.

Go make some rice.

Did I forget to mention that? 

Once everything has gotten happy.  Happy = flavorful.  Put a little rice in a bowl and ladle the soup over the top. 

I served it with asparagus on the side.  Green is good!  I have a rule that every meal has to include something green. 

This has a mild flavor that is truly kid-friendly.  If you’re only serving it to adults you can put in a pinch of red pepper flakes. 

I hope you try it.  Let me know if you do.

Leave a Reply

