Wine Wednesday: The Prisoner

Imagine date night.

Imagine that you’re sitting in a cool little wine dive in south Texas and the sommelier offers you a sample of a delicious red wine.  My true weakness…

Imagine taking a small sip of wine and immediately asking the waiter for a bottle (or two) to take home.  I don’t remember the date after this wine, it was that good.

That’s not entirely true.  I remember that the date was with my husband. 

And I remember The Prisoner…

photo 1(5)

2010 The Prisoner

A blend of zinfandel, cab, syrah, petite syrah, charbono and grenache.  Expertly blended into a deep rich red wine that tastes fruity and then oaky.  I’ve always liked a wine that makes your mouth dry almost as soon as it crosses your tongue and The Prisoner does just that. 

photo 1(7)

It has a fruity nose.  I think it favors raspberry and black currant.

It opens up and becomes even more full-bodied after a few minutes to breathe.

It’s color is almost inky.  This is not a wine for chardonnay lovers.  It is a rich, deep flavor.  It has a powerful aroma that makes each sip incredible.  A true red wine aficionado will sip slowly, savor slowly and refill quickly.

photo 3(1)

I give this one a 5 out of 5.

If anyone needs me I’ll be finishing the bottle and waiting for my anniversary presents. 

Salud!

One thought on “Wine Wednesday: The Prisoner

  1. Pingback: Kid-friendly Moroccan Lamb Stew | Wine Required

Leave a Reply

