Priorities

Caring for an aging and ailing parent can put a lot of things into perspective.  You make decisions about things that are usually in the forefront of your psyche, like this.  The situation with my father has given me the opportunity to prioritize those things that I have avoided tackling in the past.  Sometimes waking up to “growing up” isn’t as much fun as one would think.

For example:

  • I’ve started an aggressive debt reduction plan.  No more credit cards for me!
  • I’ve started making smarter choices about diet (not the same link as above).  Still going to eat brownies…just not the same kind of brownies.
  • I’ve set up an appointment with a financial adviser.  I really need to learn to save for the future.  I need to travel the world.
  • I’m implementing a 30-minute minimum exercise activity per day.  Shopping counts!
  • I’m learning to not sweat the small stuff.  The big stuff is perspiration-inducing enough.
  • I’m learning to appreciate the better things in life, like Glenfiddich 12 yr. Single Malt Whiskey.

Bottom line: I’m doing everything I can to ensure that I don’t leave my son in this same position in 60 years.  Oh yes, I plan to be around for a very long time.

And I’m going to enjoy it!!

Leave a Reply

